Trump Score Feb 12 2017 – Still Less Than One!

Updating my score card based on the activity from last week. Thankfully – although I’ve shifted a couple of the numbers, the overall score remains the same – well under the “get out of Dodge” score of 7-10 points:

trump-score-feb-12-2017

So. The judicial branch stepped up. Fantastic – that’s why we have three branches of government.

And we have a Supreme Court nominee, too. I can’t discern yet if he’s playing along with the President by sending signals that he’d be an independent thinker, or if he really is independent. But he bends towards strict constructionism, which I find worrying.

I fundamentally disagree with the idea that interpreting the Constitution in light of current events is a mistake. Especially considering some of the things actually enshrined in the Constitution. There’s a long list, but a few things that stand out include:

  • The right of women to vote. And I’ll note that the Supreme Court had previously ruled that the 14th amendment did NOT give women the right to vote. Unbelievable.
  • Slavery was legal until the 13th amendment was passed.
  • And it took the Supreme Court until 1967 to overturn anti-miscegenation laws preventing differently colored people from marrying each other.
  • The “three-fifths” compromise that said that “all other persons” were counted at a rate of three fifths when using population counts to apportion seats in the House of Representatives. Here’s the copy:

“Representatives and direct Taxes shall be apportioned among the several States which may be included within this Union, according to their respective Numbers, which shall be determined by adding to the whole Number of free Persons, including those bound to Service for a Term of Years, and excluding Indians not taxed, three fifths of all other Persons.”

So the idea that we have to stick to the constitution, thick and thin or enact an amendment doesn’t ring true. It cedes judgement and wisdom to a bunch of rich white mean from 250 years ago, and while they got the country off to a good start, they couldn’t see into the future.

I’ve had a couple of friends ask me about countries not yet on the list, namely New Zealand, Australia, Ecuador, Chile. Great question.

The first answer is because I’ve yet to visit any of those spots. The deeper answer goes back to expectations: If I leave the United States because it isn’t safe, do I want to land somewhere where my values are more fully aligned with the government? Or do I just want to be safe?

If I just want to be safe there are a lot of poorly run countries that I like. If I want to both be safe and feel aligned – I think we’re talking Canada, Sweden, Finland, Norway. Probably a few others.

Write or comment. How are you holding up?

Patrick

February 12 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

