Show Don’t Tell

I used to work in theatre. And while I was either working in the office or in the pit orchestra – I was around the actors often enough to hear them say, time and time again, “show, don’t tell“.

That’s because showing works better – far more effective to juggle than to talk about juggling.

I feel the same way about consulting – it’s easy to fall into the trap of telling and not showing (in the case of consulting – I’d switch that out to say “not doing”). But doing is far more effective – and most of the time my customers want me to accomplish something, and it isn’t talking. Or a document. Or yet another recommendation.

That doesn’t mean that you have to do all of the work yourself, but it does mean that you have to work and produce. If you’re on a website project – I think it best to go far past strategy. Deliver some primary research, a UX framework, a gap analysis between what tools your customer has and the tools they need.

You can see where I’m going here – do as much of the actual work as you can. You’ll be happier, and so will your customer.

 

Leave a Reply

