Last Race of the Summer

My brother Frank and I ran the Super Jock and Jill Half Marathon this morning – our last race of the summer. It was more of a training run than a race – I was a the Dave Matthews show earlier in the weekend and Frank was traveling from London- so – mostly – we wanted to get out for a nice run – and since I’ve been running this race for years – I thought I’d introduce Frank to it.

As a bonus, Puja rode her bike from home and met us just before the 10 mile mark – which resulted in three of our speediest miles!

It was fun – it wasn’t too hot or too cold, the crowd was pleasant, and Frank and I did better than we’d expected. We started at a sub 8 minute pace, and hung on for the entire race – and that included a quick bathroom break and a couple of stops for water! My watch had us finishing at a7.42 pace – not bad at all.

I’ll probably be a bit sore tomorrow, since I haven’t run that far since the marathon in May – but it felt good – and it was even better to head on over to Victrola for coffee and then the Coastal Kitchen for breakfast, where we met my friend Robert! Race results when available!

Leave a Reply

