Tripping Down Memory Lane

When I was new at University, the guys that helped me become a guitar player were mostly Jesuits. They just came through town on a reunion tour, and I sat in back at the local church to hear them play. The good news is that they all seem to have aged pretty well – less hair and all, and a couple of key signatures that seemed slightly out of reach – but maybe that was the result of a typical church sound system.

A few years ago, I probably would have been a part of the show – mandolin, or banjo, or electric guitar – or I would have made sure that the sound was decent. But I had a falling out with a local agency – and the ripples of that (I’ll have to write more about that later) cascaded far wider than I imagined – so I’m moderately estranged from that church, and a lot of the Jesuit community in particular.

One of the hidden benefits of seeing the show, though, was to get a chance to see how I’ve measured up since my days at school – and I have to say – a lot of the people I knew back then haven’t been as lucky as me! I have fewer wrinkles, (especially those large wrinkles that inhabit the hip, butt and belly region) and better flexibility. Could be good luck or genetics – but it’s probably the distance running, the cycling, the swimming and hanging on to jobs I love to do!

2 Comments to “Tripping Down Memory Lane”

  1. Genetics.
     
    For sure. No doubt about it.
     
    Signed,
     
    Frank X. Shaw

  2. I was just wondering if that was at the clothing-optional church concert, or do you have x-ray vision to notice all the "large wrinkles that inhabit the hip, butt, and belly region"?

Leave a Reply

