First One Under the Belt

I completed my first triathlon on Sunday – it was terrific. I learned a lot, too:

  • I was best at the events that I learned first – my speediest times compared to the field were swimming, then running, and then cycling.
  • Transitions aren’t as hard as I expected. Lace locks on my cycling shoes and running shoes helped a lot!
  • Calf cramps suck.
  • Three miles isn’t long enough, or is too long – I was just starting to feel human when I hit the finish line!
  • Swimming with 100 of my closest enemies makes for a tough start!
  • I don’t like swimming through milfoil.
  • Fast bikes are alluring – but fitness is probably the better investment

I think I’ll do another one soon to see if I learned any lessons along the way to finishing my first one!

Leave a Reply

